Banking & Financing

The current financial climate can pose challenges for organizations now facing rapid economic change. Stewart McKelvey lawyers have extensive experience acting on behalf of lenders, borrowers, equity investors and venture capitalists.

Our expertise and in-depth knowledge regarding banking and private lending operations is derived from representation of Canadian chartered banks, other banks and financial institutions, both domestic and foreign, together with frequent representation of corporate borrowers, from small business to our region’s largest companies.

We can help ensure your organization is structured to minimize burdens while ensuring all relevant regulations are met.

Our lawyers have been consistently ranked in Best Lawyers in Banking and Finance Law.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Almon

Sarah M. Almon

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3301

salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrews

Lewis Andrews,
QC

Counsel

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8822

landrews@stewartmckelvey.com

Baker

Ryan Baker

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1760

rbaker@stewartmckelvey.com

Best

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Brodeur
Gabriel D. Brodeur

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5791

gbrodeur@stewartmckelvey.com

Burke
Andrew Burke

Andrew Burke

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3395

aburke@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Dickson
James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
QC, P.Eng

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

Dysart
J.E. Britt Dysart

J.E. Britt Dysart,
QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0153

bdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Elsliger

Luc Elsliger

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2232

lelsliger@stewartmckelvey.com

Freeman
Lawrence Freeman

Lawrence Freeman,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3321

lfreeman@stewartmckelvey.com

Giacomantonio
Katie Giacomantonio

Katie Giacomantonio

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3360

kgiacomantonio@stewartmckelvey.com

Hartlen
Kyle Hartlen

Kyle Hartlen

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3304

khartlen@stewartmckelvey.com

Henderson
Lauren Henderson

Lauren Henderson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8315

lhenderson@stewartmckelvey.com

Hirsch
Richard Hirsch

Richard Hirsch

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3348

rhirsch@stewartmckelvey.com

Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Neil Jacobs

Neil Jacobs,
QC

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8888

+1.709.690.5999

njacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

James

Tyler James

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3324

tjames@stewartmckelvey.com

Jan
Sadira Jan

Sadira Jan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1701

sjan@stewartmckelvey.com

Jones
Laurie Jones

Laurie Jones

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3355

ljones@stewartmckelvey.com

Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

Kiley
Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

MacDonald
Trevor MacDonald

Trevor MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1720

tmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

MacFadyen
D. Fraser MacFadyen

D. Fraser MacFadyen

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3365

+1.902.488.3717

fmacfadyen@stewartmckelvey.com

Machum
G. Grant Machum

G. Grant Machum

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3330

+1.902.488.3770

ggmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKeigan

Robert G. MacKeigan,
QC

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1771

robbie@stewartmckelvey.com

MacLeod
Deanne MacLeod

Deanne MacLeod

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3313

dmacleod@stewartmckelvey.com

Marr
Christopher Marr

Christopher Marr,
TEP

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2789

cmarr@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

McFarlane
John McFarlane

John McFarlane,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3315

+1.902.471.9986

jmcfarlane@stewartmckelvey.com

McMackin
Gerald McMackin

Gerald McMackin,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2768

gmcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
James Murphy

James Murphy

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8312

jmurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Pike
Scott Pike

Scott Pike

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3317

spike@stewartmckelvey.com

Poirier
Mathieu Poirier

Mathieu Poirier

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1949

mpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com

Pound
Christine Pound

Christine Pound,
ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com

Randell
David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Reagh
Charles Reagh

Charles Reagh

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3335

creagh@stewartmckelvey.com

Reardon
Marc Reardon

Marc Reardon

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1700

mreardon@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Dennis Ryan

Dennis Ryan

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8824

dryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Maureen Ryan

Maureen Ryan,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8880

mryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour
Colm St. Roch Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Shakespeare
Andrea Shakespeare

Andrea Shakespeare

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1744

ashakespeare@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheppard
Bill Sheppard

Bill Sheppard

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8832

bsheppard@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith
Barbara E. Smith

Barbara E. Smith,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4514

+1.902.626.7481

bsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith
Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2787

psmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Staniland
Tauna Staniland

Tauna Staniland

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8842

tstaniland@stewartmckelvey.com

Stordy
Lawrence Stordy

Lawrence Stordy,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3347

lstordy@stewartmckelvey.com

Stuttard
Gavin Stuttard

Gavin Stuttard

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1709

gstuttard@stewartmckelvey.com

Subramanian

Divya Subramanian

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3393

dsubramanian@stewartmckelvey.com

Tabor
Brian Tabor

Brian Tabor,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3397

btabor@stewartmckelvey.com

Thomas
Candace Thomas

Candace Thomas,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3373

cthomas@stewartmckelvey.com

Travers
James Travers

James Travers,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4504

jtravers@stewartmckelvey.com

Waberski
Alanna Waberski

Alanna Waberski

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2792

+1.506.608.0700

awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Kim Walsh

Kim Walsh

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8834

kwalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Wedlake
David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com