Mergers & Acquisitions

Our lawyers have vast experience in all aspects of mergers and acquisitions. We have been the lead advisor on acquisitions (shares, assets or hybrid), divestitures, joint ventures, leveraged and management buyouts, and plans of arrangement and amalgamations, often involving multiple jurisdictions.  Key to a successful merger or acquisition is the ability to field a team that can handle the multiple issues that arise in such a transaction, such as, corporate issues, tax issues, competition issues, intellectual property issues, employment issues and foreign investment issues. While led by our Business lawyers, our approach to mergers and acquisitions involves a closely integrated multi-disciplinary team of lawyers. An often significant part of a merger or acquisition is due diligence and our team has deployed numerous strategies to digest and advise on what can often be voluminous amount of due diligence materials in a timely and efficient manner.

Our clients include public and private companies of all sizes—local, national, multinational and cross border—engaged in wide range of industries, from financial services, technology and telecommunications to manufacturing, entertainment and real estate.

Some of the mergers and acquisitions on which we have provided lead counsel include:

  • The $5.8-billion acquisition of a chain of grocery stores (named the Lexpert 2013 Deal of the Year);
  • A REIT’s $990-million sale lease-back deal with a related holding company;
  • The $1.8-billion acquisition by a North American department store of retail store leases in Atlantic Canada;
  • The $170 million acquisition of several television channels, the $111 million acquisition of an entertainment company, and the $57 million purchase of an animation studio by a motion picture and video production company;
  • A management-led buyout of the concrete division of a contracting company; and,
  • The $4.6 million acquisition of a local analytics firm by an American firm providing criminal justice agencies with offender tracking and monitoring services, resulting in local expansion and new markets.
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Ryan Baker

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1760

rbaker@stewartmckelvey.com

Adam Bata

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1702

abata@stewartmckelvey.com

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5791

gbrodeur@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrew Burke

Andrew Burke

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3395

aburke@stewartmckelvey.com

Mark Bursey

Mark Bursey,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3371

+1.902.488.6751

mbursey@stewartmckelvey.com

George Caines

George Caines,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3307

+1.902.401.0956

gcaines@stewartmckelvey.com

Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
QC, P.Eng

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

J.E. Britt Dysart

J.E. Britt Dysart,
QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0153

bdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Luc Elsliger

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2232

lelsliger@stewartmckelvey.com

Nathan Gates

Nathan Gates

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1754

ngates@stewartmckelvey.com

Katie Giacomantonio

Katie Giacomantonio

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3360

kgiacomantonio@stewartmckelvey.com

Kyle Hartlen

Kyle Hartlen

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3304

khartlen@stewartmckelvey.com

Justin Hewitt

Justin Hewitt

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8846

jhewitt@stewartmckelvey.com

Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Neil Jacobs

Neil Jacobs,
QC

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8888

+1.709.690.5999

njacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Tyler James

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3324

tjames@stewartmckelvey.com

Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Kevin Landry

Kevin Landry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3359

klandry@stewartmckelvey.com

Trevor MacDonald

Trevor MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1720

tmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

D. Fraser MacFadyen

D. Fraser MacFadyen

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3365

+1.902.488.3717

fmacfadyen@stewartmckelvey.com

Deanne MacLeod

Deanne MacLeod

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3313

dmacleod@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrew McMackin

Andrew McMackin

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8340

amcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

James Murphy

James Murphy

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8312

jmurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Peter Osmond

Peter Osmond

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3367

posmond@stewartmckelvey.com

Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Mathieu Poirier

Mathieu Poirier

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1949

mpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com

Christine Pound

Christine Pound

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com

David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Marc Reardon

Marc Reardon

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1700

mreardon@stewartmckelvey.com

Todd Schindeler

Todd Schindeler

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1730

tschindeler@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrea Shakespeare

Andrea Shakespeare

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1744

ashakespeare@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2787

psmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Justin Song

Justin Song (송진원)

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3320

jsong@stewartmckelvey.com

Tauna Staniland

Tauna Staniland

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8842

tstaniland@stewartmckelvey.com

Lawrence Stordy

Lawrence Stordy,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3347

lstordy@stewartmckelvey.com

Gavin Stuttard

Gavin Stuttard

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1709

gstuttard@stewartmckelvey.com

Divya Subramanian

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3393

dsubramanian@stewartmckelvey.com

David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephen Winter

Stephen Winter

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8851

swinter@stewartmckelvey.com