Professional Regulation & Misconduct

Stewart McKelvey lawyers act for professional bodies and for individual professionals in defence of liability claims, as well as acting for professional bodies in regulatory and disciplinary matters.

In their role as counsel to professional organizations, they draft, maintain and administer private legislation, by-laws and rules, and advise and participate in all aspects of disciplinary matters.

Stewart McKelvey has acted as legal counsel in well over 200 discipline cases, including advising Complaints Committees, Discipline Committees, Boards on Appeal and acting as counsel in discipline cases before the Courts. Our lawyers practice “preventive law” in respect of discipline cases, making every effort to ensure that the decisions made by Committees or Boards meet the standards required by the legislation so that those decisions may stand and the possibilities of expensive appeals are reduced for the professional associations.

Stewart McKelvey’s intimate knowledge of regulatory organizations allows us to remain on top of current developments and issues that are of specific interest to our clients.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • St. John's
Andrews

Lewis Andrews,
QC

Counsel

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8822

landrews@stewartmckelvey.com

Caplan
Tyana R. Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Fleischmann
Michael Fleischmann

Michael Fleischmann

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4569

mfleischmann@stewartmckelvey.com

Fontaine
Renée M. Fontaine

Renée M. Fontaine

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1973

rfontaine@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Haché
Marie-Hélène Haché

Marie-Hélène Haché

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0122

mhache@stewartmckelvey.com

Harper
Lauren Harper

Lauren Harper

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3341

lharper@stewartmckelvey.com

Jackson
Sarah Jackson

Sarah Jackson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

sjackson@stewartmckelvey.com

LeBlanc Hultberg

Julie LeBlanc Hultberg

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1964

jleblanchultberg@stewartmckelvey.com

MacPherson
Jennifer MacPherson

Jennifer MacPherson

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4565

jmacpherson@stewartmckelvey.com

McCormick
Carman G. McCormick

Carman G. McCormick,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3318

cmccormick@stewartmckelvey.com

Miller
David Miller

David Miller,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3319

dmiller@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Stapleford
Stephanie Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

Young
Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com

Zdebiak
Rodney Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com