Professional Regulation & Misconduct

Stewart McKelvey lawyers act for professional bodies and for individual professionals in defence of liability claims, as well as acting for professional bodies in regulatory and disciplinary matters.

In their role as counsel to professional organizations, they draft, maintain and administer private legislation, by-laws and rules, and advise and participate in all aspects of disciplinary matters.

Stewart McKelvey has acted as legal counsel in well over 200 discipline cases, including advising Complaints Committees, Discipline Committees, Boards on Appeal and acting as counsel in discipline cases before the Courts. Our lawyers practice “preventive law” in respect of discipline cases, making every effort to ensure that the decisions made by Committees or Boards meet the standards required by the legislation so that those decisions may stand and the possibilities of expensive appeals are reduced for the professional associations.

Stewart McKelvey’s intimate knowledge of regulatory organizations allows us to remain on top of current developments and issues that are of specific interest to our clients.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • St. John's

Lewis Andrews,
QC

Counsel

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8822

landrews@stewartmckelvey.com

Art Barry,
QC

Partner and General Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3364

abarry@stewartmckelvey.com

Tyana R. Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Michael Fleischmann

Michael Fleischmann

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4569

mfleischmann@stewartmckelvey.com

Renée M. Fontaine

Renée M. Fontaine

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1973

rfontaine@stewartmckelvey.com

Lauren Harper

Lauren Harper

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3341

lharper@stewartmckelvey.com

Sarah Jackson

Sarah Jackson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

sjackson@stewartmckelvey.com

Julie LeBlanc Hultberg

Julie LeBlanc Hultberg

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1964

jleblanchultberg@stewartmckelvey.com

Charles LeBlond

Charles LeBlond,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

cleblond@stewartmckelvey.com

Jennifer MacPherson

Jennifer MacPherson

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4565

jmacpherson@stewartmckelvey.com

Carman G. McCormick

Carman G. McCormick,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3318

cmccormick@stewartmckelvey.com

David Miller

David Miller,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3319

dmiller@stewartmckelvey.com

Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephanie Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com