Skip to content

Intellectual Property

We help our clients build and protect their intellectual property, under copyright, trademark, trade secret and other aspects of IP, including:

Copyright

  • Copyright protection including registrations in Canada and elsewhere;
  • Licensing, assignments and other copyright agreements;
  • Due diligence for transactions affected by copyright and other IP;
  • Copyright infringement claims in provincial and federal courts;
  • Copyright opinions regarding potential claims;
  • Copyright opinions on chain of title/ownership, including for financing transactions;
  • Copyright clearance and content review; and
  • Online copyright issues including websites.

Trademarks

  • Trademark searches to determine availability;
  • Trademark applications (inside and outside Canada through our connections with international counsel);
  • Oppositions (to trademark applications) and related proceedings;
  • Trademark infringement and passing-off claims in provincial and federal courts;
  • Trademark opinions regarding potential claims;
  • Expungement proceedings;
  • Trademark licensing and agreements;
  • Due diligence for transactions affected by trademarks and other IP;
  • Trademark portfolio strategy including cross-border;
  • Trademark co-existence agreements; and
  • Domain names, websites and social media use.

Our trademark agents:

Rob Aske – Halifax
Daniela Bassan – Halifax
Clarence Bennett – Saint John
Erin Best – St. John’s
James M. Dickson, QC, P.Eng. – Halifax
Richard Hirsch – Halifax
Frederick McElman, CM, QC – Fredericton
Susan Norman – St. John’s
Nicholas Russon – Fredericton
Barbara E. Smith, QC  – Charlottetown

Patents

  • Licensing, assignments and other patent agreements;
  • Patent prosecution assistance (using patent agents and lawyers in other national and international firms);
  • Interface with other IP such as copyright and trademark; and
  • Due diligence assistance for transactions affected by patents and other IP.
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Aske

Rob Aske

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3310

raske@stewartmckelvey.com

Badawi

Ibrahim Badawi

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3379

ibadawi@stewartmckelvey.com

Bassan

Daniela Bassan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3354

dbassan@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Saint John (& Fredericton)

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6414

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Fredericton (& Saint John)

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8978

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Best

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Donald Cameron

Donald Cameron

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4568

dcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Constantine
David Constantine

David Constantine

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8821

dconstantine@stewartmckelvey.com

Dickson
James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
QC, P.Eng

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

Dysart
J.E. Britt Dysart

J.E. Britt Dysart,
QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0153

bdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Francis
Burtley Francis

Burtley Francis

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1714

bfrancis@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Nick Grant

Nick Grant

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1761

ngrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Hirsch
Richard Hirsch

Richard Hirsch

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3348

rhirsch@stewartmckelvey.com

Jackson
Sarah Jackson

Sarah Jackson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

sjackson@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Matthew Jacobs

Matthew Jacobs

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5790

mjacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Marr
Christopher Marr

Christopher Marr,
TEP

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2789

cmarr@stewartmckelvey.com

McCaw

Meaghan McCaw

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8837

mmccaw@stewartmckelvey.com

McCormick
Simon McCormick

Simon McCormick

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1756

smccormick@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
Jennifer Murphy

Jennifer Murphy

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3387

jennifermurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Norman
Susan Norman

Susan Norman

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8831

snorman@stewartmckelvey.com

Reardon
Marc Reardon

Marc Reardon

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1700

mreardon@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Russon
Nicholas Russon

Nicholas Russon

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0128

+1.506.292.3615

nrusson@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith
Barbara E. Smith

Barbara E. Smith,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4514

+1.902.626.7481

bsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Stapleford
Stephanie Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

Subramanian

Divya Subramanian

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3393

dsubramanian@stewartmckelvey.com

Waberski

Alanna Waberski

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2792

+1.506.608.0700

awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Margaret Anne Walsh

Margaret Anne Walsh

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4547

mawalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top