Skip to content

Tax

Our lawyers bring to the table significant experience in implementing complex tax planning strategies for businesses of all sizes. They regularly work with accountants, including firms across Canada and internationally, as well as with our clients’ trusted advisors, to ensure the business is operating on a tax-efficient basis. Our nationally recognized experience includes advising on:

  • Income tax
  • Excise tax
  • GST/HST
  • Capital tax issues
  • Cross border issues
  • Corporate and personal tax planning
  • Tax planning for executive compensation

Our lawyers also have significant experience in successful appeals at the Tax Court of Canada. They regularly handle our clients’ issues with the Canada Revenue Agency regarding issues of assessments, audits, and demands for information.

Insights

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Alexander

Diedre Alexander

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1726

dalexander@stewartmckelvey.com

Almon

Sarah M. Almon,
TEP

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3301

salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Awad

Rackelle Awad

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3342

rawad@stewartmckelvey.com

Bursey
Mark Bursey

Mark Bursey,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3371

+1.902.488.6751

mbursey@stewartmckelvey.com

Callahan

Tyler Callahan

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8825

tcallahan@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Coats

Madeleine Coats,
TEP

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8801

mcoats@stewartmckelvey.com

Cruickshank
Jim Cruickshank

Jim Cruickshank

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3394

jcruickshank@stewartmckelvey.com

Dale
Dale Jonathan

Jonathan Dale

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5795

jdale@stewartmckelvey.com

Delaney

Jahvon Delaney

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

jdelaney@stewartmckelvey.com

Festeryga
Paul Festeryga

Paul Festeryga,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3302

pfesteryga@stewartmckelvey.com

Geldert

Zach Geldert

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4540

zgeldert@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Haynes
Graham Haynes

Graham Haynes

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8331

ghaynes@stewartmckelvey.com

Matthews

Timothy Matthews,
K.C., TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3325

tmatthews@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McIsaac

Christena McIsaac,
CPA, CA

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3305

cmcisaac@stewartmckelvey.com

Niedermayer
Richard Niedermayer

Richard Niedermayer,
K.C., TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3339

rniedermayer@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Reed

Joel Reed

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2785

jreed@stewartmckelvey.com

Roth

Daniel Roth

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3367

droth@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan

Mick Ryan,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Scott
Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

Wallace

Stuart Wallace

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8867 x58867

+1.709.691.5267

swallace@stewartmckelvey.com

Whelan

Allison Whelan,
LL.M (Tax)

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8897

awhelan@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top