Tax

Our lawyers bring to the table significant experience in implementing complex tax planning strategies for businesses of all sizes. They regularly work with accountants, including firms across Canada and internationally, as well as with our clients’ trusted advisors, to ensure the business is operating on a tax-efficient basis. Our nationally recognized experience includes advising on:

  • Income tax
  • Excise tax
  • GST/HST
  • Capital tax issues
  • Cross border issues
  • Corporate and personal tax planning
  • Tax planning for executive compensation

Our lawyers also have significant experience in successful appeals at the Tax Court of Canada. They regularly handle our clients’ issues with the Canadian Revenue Agency regarding issues of assessments, audits, and demands for information.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Sarah M. Almon

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3301

salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Adam Bata

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1702

abata@stewartmckelvey.com

Mark Bursey

Mark Bursey,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3371

+1.902.488.6751

mbursey@stewartmckelvey.com

Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Jim Cruickshank

Jim Cruickshank

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3394

jcruickshank@stewartmckelvey.com

Dale Jonathan

Jonathan Dale

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5795

jdale@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Festeryga

Paul Festeryga,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3302

pfesteryga@stewartmckelvey.com

Nathan Gates

Nathan Gates

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1754

ngates@stewartmckelvey.com

Katie Giacomantonio

Katie Giacomantonio

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3360

kgiacomantonio@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Kyle Hartlen

Kyle Hartlen

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3304

khartlen@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1718

ahill@stewartmckelvey.com

Trevor MacDonald

Trevor MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1720

tmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

Daniel MacKenzie

Daniel MacKenzie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1769

dmackenzie@stewartmckelvey.com

Timothy Matthews

Timothy Matthews,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3325

tmatthews@stewartmckelvey.com

Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Brent McCumber

Brent McCumber,
P.Eng.

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8314

bmccumber@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard Niedermayer

Richard Niedermayer,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3339

rniedermayer@stewartmckelvey.com

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Peter Osmond

Peter Osmond

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3367

posmond@stewartmckelvey.com

Christine Pound

Christine Pound

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com

Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Justin Song

Justin Song (송진원)

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3320

jsong@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephanie Stapleford

Stephanie Stapleford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0155

sstapleford@stewartmckelvey.com

David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com

Allison Whelan

Allison Whelan,
LLM (Tax)

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8897

awhelan@stewartmckelvey.com