Municipal

Stewart McKelvey is a longstanding member of The Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships. We currently act for 47 municipal councils (34 towns, 7 cities and 2 municipalities) throughout Atlantic Canada. We work with municipalities to ensure they have responsive and thoughtful planning strategies, which support and enhance their ability to realize sustainable and strategic growth. This often involves advice on revisions to the land use planning by-laws and municipal planning strategies and how to implement these amendments, the draft and review of development and servicing agreements and the appeal of planning and land use matters. Our lawyers have been directly involved in the formulation and drafting of municipal by-laws and policies and we regularly advise a broad base of municipal clients on questions involving legislation and municipal powers. We also advise clients in municipal liability, tendering, conflict of interest and taxation, as well as providing advice on contracts of all sizes, from a simple one-page deal to complicated agreements covering the delivery of services, purchasing of goods, employment and collective bargaining rights.

Our lawyers regularly review, draft and advise our municipal clients on bylaw issues. This includes extensive experience with enforcement issues and providing advice on and representation in the enforcement of municipal bylaws in consultation with our clients and other law enforcement agencies.

Our Firm has provided legal counsel on some of the most significant municipal projects in Atlantic Canada, including:

  • Development of a sewage collection system and sewage treatment plants where we provided counsel on contracts, mechanical liens, bonding, freedom of information, litigation, occupational health and safety, partnership disputes, employment issues, expropriations and environmental issues
  • A municipal composting facility
  • The decommissioning of a waste management program and post-decommissioning infrastructure projects
  • Preparation of all financing and development agreements with the province in regards to the construction of thirteen schools
  • Leases and financing to develop the a correctional forensic facility
  • All agreements regarding the development of a toll highway

Whether seeking compliance before the Supreme Court on matters of unsightly premises, or prosecuting violations of the noise bylaw, our lawyers have the experience to obtain cost effective and successful outcomes for the municipal client.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Ayers

Giles Ayers

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8840

gayers@stewartmckelvey.com

Best

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Craig

Matthew N. Craig

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8827

mcraig@stewartmckelvey.com

Gillespie
Brandon Gillespie

Brandon Gillespie

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8854

bgillespie@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Granville
Anthony Granville

Anthony Granville

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8836

agranville@stewartmckelvey.com

Hewitt
Justin Hewitt

Justin Hewitt

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8846

jhewitt@stewartmckelvey.com

James

Tyler James

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3324

tjames@stewartmckelvey.com

Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

Kiley
Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Lewis
Christopher Lewis

Christopher Lewis

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8820

+1.709.685.5015

clewis@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

McCaw
Meaghan McCaw

Meaghan McCaw

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8837

mmccaw@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

Morrison
Perlene Morrison

Perlene Morrison

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4508

pmorrison@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Penney
Stephen Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

Russon
Nicholas Russon

Nicholas Russon

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0128

+1.506.292.3615

nrusson@stewartmckelvey.com

Shanks
John Shanks

John Shanks

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3329

jshanks@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheppard
Bill Sheppard

Bill Sheppard

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8832

+1.709.727.7030

bsheppard@stewartmckelvey.com

Subramanian

Divya Subramanian

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3393

dsubramanian@stewartmckelvey.com

Thorne
Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Travers
James Travers

James Travers,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4504

jtravers@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Kim Walsh

Kim Walsh

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8834

kwalsh@stewartmckelvey.com