Skip to content

Media, Advertising & Marketing

Whether our clients use traditional print, radio, and television media or online social media platforms, from airwaves to youtube, our lawyers provide pro-active, informed legal guidance on publishing, advertising and marketing.

Our work includes:

  • Pre-publication review.
  • Challenging confidentiality orders from courts and administrative tribunals.
  • Assistance in seeking access to information under municipal, provincial and federal statutes.
  • Preparing third party responses to access requests where confidential commercial or personal information is at stake.
  • Privacy audits and advice regarding the collection, use and disclosure of personal information under federal and provincial legislation.
  • Strategic guidance to respond to and mitigate harm to reputational harm from social media attacks, including assistance in unmasking anonymous posters and securing internet take-down orders.
  • Review of advertising material for legal compliance;
  • Reviewing contest rules and compliance with governing legislation.

Our clients include:

  • Print and web-based media and broadcasting companies
  • Technology companies
  • Universities and large public institutions
  • Small to medium sized businesses
  • Large corporations
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • St. John's
Aske

Rob Aske

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3310

raske@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett-Clayton

Karen Bennett-Clayton

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3377

kbennettclayton@stewartmckelvey.com

Best

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Francis
Burtley Francis

Burtley Francis

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1714

bfrancis@stewartmckelvey.com

Hirsch
Richard Hirsch

Richard Hirsch

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3348

rhirsch@stewartmckelvey.com

Machum
Geoffrey Machum

Geoffrey Machum,
QC, ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3338

gmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

MacLachlan
Kimberly MacLachlan

Kimberly MacLachlan

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1762

kmaclachlan@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
Jennifer Murphy

Jennifer Murphy

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3387

jennifermurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Norman
Susan Norman

Susan Norman

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8831

snorman@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard
André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Samms

G. John Samms

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.722.4270

gjsamms@stewartmckelvey.com

Subramanian

Divya Subramanian

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3393

dsubramanian@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top