Labour & Employment

Stewart McKelvey has Atlantic Canada’s largest Labour & Employment Group with nationally recognized practitioners in each province. We advise on all workplace issues for both non-union and unionized clients who are provincial, national or international and operating in both the private and public sectors. We recognize that workplace issues are time sensitive and our lawyers are available whenever you need us. Representative areas of our practice include:

Employment

We provide a full range of services required in today’s complex employment environment with an ever-changing statutory regime, an aging workforce and the increasing importance of human capital. Areas on which we regularly advise include:

  • Employment, Contractor & Consultant Contracts
  • Executive Compensation
  • Workplace Policies & Procedures
  • Business Restructurings
  • Purchase & Sale of Businesses
  • Employment Standards
  • Workplace Investigations
  • Terminations ( and avoiding constructive dismissals)
  • Litigation – Terminations, Restrictive Covenants etc
  • Employment Equity & Pay Equity

Labour

Stewart McKelvey represents many of Atlantic Canada’s leading corporate and institutional employers, both large and small including many governed by the Canada Labour Code. Matters on which we frequently provide advice include:

  • Collective Agreement Interpretation and Administration
  • Collective Bargaining
  • Grievance and Interest Arbitrations
  • Strikes & Lockouts
  • Jurisdictional Disputes
  • Labour Board proceedings including Certification, Decertification, Common Employer and Successor Rights

Human Rights

Occupational health & safety

Employers recognize the need to operate with a clear focus on workplace health & safety. We regularly advise and assist on such matters as:

  • Health & Safety Policies
  • Drug & Alcohol Testing Procedures & Protocols
  • Incident Responses (both internally & to Government)
  • Defending Prosecutions

Pensions and Benefits

In addition, our Labour & Employment Group includes many lawyers advising on Workers’ Compensation, Workplace Privacy and Immigration.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Ayers

Giles Ayers

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8840

gayers@stewartmckelvey.com

Belliveau

Tessa Belliveau

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1952

tbelliveau@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Saint John (& Fredericton)

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6414

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Fredericton (& Saint John)

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8978

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Black

Michelle Black

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3332

mblack@stewartmckelvey.com

Chan
Level Chan

Level Chan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3389

lchan@stewartmckelvey.com

Clark
Janet Clark

Janet Clark,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4562

jclark@stewartmckelvey.com

Dunlop
Rick Dunlop

Rick Dunlop

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3384

rdunlop@stewartmckelvey.com

Foster

Hilary Foster

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4590

hfoster@stewartmckelvey.com

Fraser
J. Andrew Fraser

J. Andrew Fraser,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3390

afraser@stewartmckelvey.com

Granville
Anthony Granville

Anthony Granville

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8836

agranville@stewartmckelvey.com

Gray
Annie Gray

Annie Gray

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3396

agray@stewartmckelvey.com

Greenough
Lara Greenough

Lara Greenough

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0151

lgreenough@stewartmckelvey.com

Haché
Marie-Hélène Haché

Marie-Hélène Haché

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0122

mhache@stewartmckelvey.com

Harding
Danielle Harding

Danielle Harding

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0124

dharding@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Hill
Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1718

ahill@stewartmckelvey.com

Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Johnston
Brian Johnston

Brian Johnston,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3374

bjohnston@stewartmckelvey.com

Jordan
Richard Jordan

Richard Jordan

Research Lawyer

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1712

rjordan@stewartmckelvey.com

Kanhai
Sarah Kanhai

Sarah Kanhai

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1966

skanhai@stewartmckelvey.com

Kelly
Sean Kelly

Sean Kelly

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1742

+1.902.471.5359

skelly@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Lanctôt
Sheila Lanctôt

Sheila Lanctôt

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.6982

slanctot@stewartmckelvey.com

Leclair Shefler
Andrea Leclair Shefler

Andrea Leclair Shefler

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4545

aleclairshefler@stewartmckelvey.com

LeMesurier
James F. LeMesurier

James F. LeMesurier,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2776

+1.506.636.0986

jlemesurier@stewartmckelvey.com

Machum
G. Grant Machum

G. Grant Machum

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3330

+1.902.488.3770

ggmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

Manna
Danta Manna

Dante Manna

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3343

dmanna@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

McLellan
Peter McLellan

Peter McLellan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1717

+1.902.402.0189

pmclellan@stewartmckelvey.com

McParland
Killian McParland

Killian McParland

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1722

kmcparland@stewartmckelvey.com

Mills
Bryan Mills

Bryan Mills

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0132

bmills@stewartmckelvey.com

Milne
Justin Milne

Justin Milne

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4540

jmilne@stewartmckelvey.com

Morisset
Sacha Morisset

Sacha Morisset

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1942

smorisset@stewartmckelvey.com

Morse
John Morse

John Morse

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0129

jmorse@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
Murray L. Murphy

Murray L. Murphy,
QC, CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4558

+1.902.626.9652

mmurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Penney
Stephen Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

Plowman
John Plowman

John Plowman,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3322

jplowman@stewartmckelvey.com

Reid
Twila Reid

Twila Reid

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8828

+1.709.685.7535

treid@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard
André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard
Guy-Etienne Richard

Guy-Etienne Richard

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3368

grichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Samms

G. John Samms

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.722.4270

gjsamms@stewartmckelvey.com

Saturley
Rebecca Saturley

Rebecca Saturley

Managing Partner, Halifax

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3333

+1.902.456.0039

rsaturley@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith
Harold Smith

Harold Smith,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8895

+1.709.685.2308

hsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Stewart
Christopher Stewart

Christopher Stewart

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2224

+1.506.850.7906

cstewart@stewartmckelvey.com

Sullivan
Chad Sullivan

Chad Sullivan

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0126

csullivan@stewartmckelvey.com

Tector
Mark Tector

Mark Tector

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3358

mtector@stewartmckelvey.com

Trafford
Brittany Trafford

Brittany Trafford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.9865

btrafford@stewartmckelvey.com

Trask
Ruth Trask

Ruth Trask

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8893

rtrask@stewartmckelvey.com

Vincent
Robert Vincent

Robert Vincent,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2780

rvincent@stewartmckelvey.com

Wallace
Ian Wallace

Ian Wallace

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8839

+1.709.727.0231

iwallace@stewartmckelvey.com

Ward
Sam Ward

Sam Ward

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1765

sward@stewartmckelvey.com

Watson
Jamie Watson

Jamie Watson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6418

jwatson@stewartmckelvey.com

Young
Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com