Labour & Employment

Stewart McKelvey lawyers work closely with the owners and managers of many of Atlantic Canada’s leading corporate and institutional employers, both large and small, private and public sectors, to fully understand their businesses and challenges they face. This enables us to be highly effective in developing strategies to avoid problems where possible while fully asserting the employer’s right to manage the workplace effectively and efficiently. We handle all aspects of labour and employment law including:

  • Collective agreement administration
  • Collective bargaining
  • Employment standards issues
  • Human rights concerns
  • Labour arbitrations
  • Labour board proceedings
  • Occupational health and safety issues and prosecutions
  • Pay equity
  • Pension and employee benefit issues
  • Workplace and business restructuring
  • Workers compensation
  • Wrongful dismissal litigation
  • Workplace investigations.

Our clients include key participants in the retail trade, the service sector, healthcare, post-secondary education, all of the traditional resource-based industries and emerging areas such as oil and gas and information technology.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Giles Ayers

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8840

gayers@stewartmckelvey.com

Timothy Bell

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2306

tbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Saint John & Fredericton

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6414

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Michelle Black

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3332

mblack@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephen Carpenter

Stephen Carpenter,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4556

scarpenter@stewartmckelvey.com

Level Chan

Level Chan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3389

lchan@stewartmckelvey.com

Janet Clark

Janet Clark,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4562

jclark@stewartmckelvey.com

Rick Dunlop

Rick Dunlop

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3384

rdunlop@stewartmckelvey.com

Hilary Foster

Hilary Foster

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4590

hfoster@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Andrew Fraser

J. Andrew Fraser,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3390

afraser@stewartmckelvey.com

Annie Gray

Annie Gray

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3396

agray@stewartmckelvey.com

Lara Greenough

Lara Greenough

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0151

lgreenough@stewartmckelvey.com

Jessica Habet

Jessica Habet

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8827

jhabet@stewartmckelvey.com

Danielle Harding

Danielle Harding

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0124

dharding@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1718

ahill@stewartmckelvey.com

Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Brian Johnston

Brian Johnston,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3374

bjohnston@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard Jordan

Richard Jordan

Research Lawyer

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1712

rjordan@stewartmckelvey.com

Sean Kelly

Sean Kelly

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1742

+1.902.471.5359

skelly@stewartmckelvey.com

Gérard La Forest

Gérard La Forest,
C.C, QC

Counsel

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0135

glaforest@stewartmckelvey.com

Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheila Lanctôt

Sheila Lanctôt

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.6982

slanctot@stewartmckelvey.com

Charles LeBlond

Charles LeBlond,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

cleblond@stewartmckelvey.com

G. Grant Machum

G. Grant Machum

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3330

+1.902.488.3770

ggmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

Dante Manna

Dante Manna

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3343

dmanna@stewartmckelvey.com

Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

Peter McLellan

Peter McLellan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1717

+1.902.402.0189

pmclellan@stewartmckelvey.com

Killian McParland

Killian McParland

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1722

kmcparland@stewartmckelvey.com

Bryan Mills

Bryan Mills

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0132

bmills@stewartmckelvey.com

Justin Milne

Justin Milne

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4540

jmilne@stewartmckelvey.com

Sacha Morisset

Sacha Morisset

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1942

smorisset@stewartmckelvey.com

Murray L. Murphy

Murray L. Murphy,
QC, CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4558

+1.902.626.9652

mmurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephen Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

John Plowman

John Plowman,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3322

jplowman@stewartmckelvey.com

Twila Reid

Twila Reid

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8828

+1.709.685.7535

treid@stewartmckelvey.com

André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Guy-Etienne Richard

Guy-Etienne Richard

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3368

grichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Rebecca Saturley

Rebecca Saturley

Managing Partner, Halifax

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3333

+1.902.456.0039

rsaturley@stewartmckelvey.com

Harold Smith

Harold Smith,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8895

+1.709.685.2308

hsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Stewart

Christopher Stewart

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2224

+1.506.850.7906

cstewart@stewartmckelvey.com

Chad Sullivan

Chad Sullivan

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0126

csullivan@stewartmckelvey.com

Mark Tector

Mark Tector

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3358

mtector@stewartmckelvey.com

Brittany Trafford

Brittany Trafford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.9865

btrafford@stewartmckelvey.com

Ruth Trask

Ruth Trask

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8893

rtrask@stewartmckelvey.com

Robert Vincent

Robert Vincent,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2780

rvincent@stewartmckelvey.com

Ian Wallace

Ian Wallace

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8839

+1.709.727.0231

iwallace@stewartmckelvey.com

Jamie Watson

Jamie Watson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6418

jwatson@stewartmckelvey.com

Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com

Rodney Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com