Skip to content

Insurance

The success of Stewart McKelvey’s insurance practice is based in large part on the understanding of the importance of effective claim management and the need for cost-effective solutions. One of the core areas of our practice is representing insurers carrying out business in Atlantic Canada, including:

  • Automobile claims
  • Professional liability
  • Property
  • Life, health, long- and short-term disability
  • Hospital liability
  • Marine insurance
  • Construction and major casualty claims

Our diverse and regionally-based resources allow for effective management of and response to virtually any insurance issue. Our clients include major Canadian and international insurers and reinsurers, underwriters at Lloyd’s, insurance brokers and agents, and investment banks. We have also advised governments and their regulatory agencies on legislative and regulatory issues affecting the insurance sector.

Insights

Throughout the year, our insurance lawyers provide written insights and updates on recent case law and legislation in the region and beyond. To learn more about relevant topics, click on one of the following titles:

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Adesanya

Folu Adesanya

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1733

fadesanya@stewartmckelvey.com

Anderson

Tiffany Anderson

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.9947

tanderson@stewartmckelvey.com

Barry

David Barry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3303

dbarry@stewartmckelvey.com

Barry

Scott Barry

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4582

sbarry@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett-Clayton

Karen Bennett-Clayton

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3377

kbennettclayton@stewartmckelvey.com

Benson

Cynthia Benson,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8301

cbenson@stewartmckelvey.com

Best (she/her)

Erin Best (she/her)

Partner & Trademark Agent

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Boudreau

Rémy Boudreau

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

rboudreau@stewartmckelvey.com

Bradley

Robert Bradley

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5796

rbradley@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Donald Cameron

Donald Cameron

Partner & Trademark Agent

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4568

dcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron,
K.C.

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Campbell

Daniel R. Campbell

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2302

dcampbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Campbell

Liz Campbell

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3318

lcampbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Clark
Janet Clark

Janet Clark,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4562

jclark@stewartmckelvey.com

Constantine

Dana Constantine

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5790

drconstantine@stewartmckelvey.com

Corscadden

Sean Corscadden

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0132

scorscadden@stewartmckelvey.com

Coxworthy

Paul Coxworthy

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8830

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Cyr

Marie-Pier Cyr

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1970

mcyr@stewartmckelvey.com

Dale
Dale Jonathan

Jonathan Dale

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5795

jdale@stewartmckelvey.com

Dever Letson
Sarah Dever Letson

Sarah Dever Letson,
CIPP/C

Managing Partner, Saint John

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2764

sletson@stewartmckelvey.com

DeWolfe

Calvin DeWolfe

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1754

cdewolfe@stewartmckelvey.com

Douglas

Emma Douglas

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.637.9227

edouglas@stewartmckelvey.com

Downie
Adam Downie

Adam Downie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1707

adownie@stewartmckelvey.com

Foley

Meghan Foley

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8849

mfoley@stewartmckelvey.com

Fontaine
Renée M. Fontaine

Renée M. Fontaine

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1973

rfontaine@stewartmckelvey.com

Fraser
J. Andrew Fraser

J. Andrew Fraser,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3390

afraser@stewartmckelvey.com

Fulton
Kristen Fulton

Kristen Fulton

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2791

kfulton@stewartmckelvey.com

Gartshore

Michiko Gartshore

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0152

mgartshore@stewartmckelvey.com

Gaudet

Tristian J. Gaudet

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2234

tgaudet@stewartmckelvey.com

Goobie

Zack Goobie

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1977

zgoobie@stewartmckelvey.com

Goodridge

Christopher Goodridge

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8836

cgoodridge@stewartmckelvey.com

Harding

Danielle Harding

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0124

dharding@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Hogan

Sarah Hogan

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8882

shogan@stewartmckelvey.com

Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Iancu

Diana Iancu

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1967

diancu@stewartmckelvey.com

Jenkins

Charlotte Jenkins

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4538

cjenkins@stewartmckelvey.com

Johnson

Ben Johnson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3350

bjohnson@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
K.C.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Landry
Dominique Landry

Dominique Landry

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1979

dlandry@stewartmckelvey.com

Landry

Manon Landry

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.490.8583

mlandry@stewartmckelvey.com

LeBlanc Hultberg

Julie LeBlanc Hultberg

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1964

jleblanchultberg@stewartmckelvey.com

Lewis

Sarah-Jane Lewis

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9505

sjlewis@stewartmckelvey.com

MacDonald

Dylan MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3312

dmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

Machum
Geoffrey Machum

Geoffrey Machum,
K.C., ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3338

+1.902.441.2344

gmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKenzie

Daniel MacKenzie

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1769

dmackenzie@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKnight

Evan MacKnight

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0131

emacknight@stewartmckelvey.com

MacPherson

Jennifer MacPherson

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4565

jmacpherson@stewartmckelvey.com

Madill
Christopher Madill

Christopher Madill

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1711

cmadill@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

McCaw

Meaghan McCaw

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0156 x40156

mmccaw@stewartmckelvey.com

McCaw

Meaghan McCaw

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.506.443.0156 x40156

mmccaw@stewartmckelvey.com

McEwan

Tipper McEwan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1743

tmcewan@stewartmckelvey.com

McGuinty Jr.

Dalton McGuinty Jr.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4503

dmcguinty@stewartmckelvey.com

McSorley

Erin McSorley

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8819

emcsorley@stewartmckelvey.com

Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Morris

Julie Morris

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8824

jmorris@stewartmckelvey.com

Nabuurs

Taya Nabuurs

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4569

tnabuurs@stewartmckelvey.com

Nicholson
Sara Nicholson

Sara Nicholson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1758

snicholson@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jonathan O'Kane

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Neil
Conor O'Neil

Conor O'Neil,
P.Eng.

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2786

coneil@stewartmckelvey.com

Parsche (he/they)

Levi Parsche (he/they)

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3336

lparsche@stewartmckelvey.com

Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

Piercey
Colin Piercey

Colin Piercey,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3345

+1.902.401.4415

cpiercey@stewartmckelvey.com

Pinchak

James Pinchak

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3341

jpinchak@stewartmckelvey.com

Pittman

Sean Pittman

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8865

spittman@stewartmckelvey.com

Profit

Kate Profit

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4516

kprofit@stewartmckelvey.com

Raske

Matthew R. Raske

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8879

mraske@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard
André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
K.C. (Retired)

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Robertson

Kali Robertson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3360

krobertson@stewartmckelvey.com

Rogers

Rory Rogers,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3369

rrogers@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Rudderham
Brianne Rudderham

Brianne Rudderham

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3323

brudderham@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan

Mick Ryan,
K.C.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Scott
Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Scovil

Lyndsay Scovil

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2228

lscovil@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Seviour
Sean Seviour

Sean Seviour

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4519

sseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Shanks
John Shanks

John Shanks

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3329

jshanks@stewartmckelvey.com

Sorel

Lauren Sorel

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0157

lsorel@stewartmckelvey.com

Stetson

Graeme Stetson

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.892.2485

graemestetson@stewartmckelvey.com

Thomson

Koren Thomson

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8848

kthomson@stewartmckelvey.com

Thorne
Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Toner
Katherine Toner

Katherine Toner

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8970

ktoner@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Margaret Anne Walsh

Margaret Anne Walsh

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4547

mawalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Walsh
Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Ward
Sam Ward

Sam Ward

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1765

sward@stewartmckelvey.com

Watson

Jamie Watson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6418

jwatson@stewartmckelvey.com

White

Tyler White

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3332

twhite@stewartmckelvey.com

Wood

Shanieka Wood

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3381

shwood@stewartmckelvey.com

Wood
Shelley Wood

Shelley A. Wood

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3353

swood@stewartmckelvey.com

Woycheshyn

Jason Woycheshyn

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3380

jwoycheshyn@stewartmckelvey.com

Young
Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com

Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak,
K.C.

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

+1.709.685.2434

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com

Zelman

Jacob Zelman

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4571

jzelman@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top