Insurance

The success of Stewart McKelvey’s insurance practice is based in large part on the understanding of the importance of effective claim management and the need for cost-effective solutions. One of the core areas of our practice is representing insurers carrying out business in Atlantic Canada, including:

  • Automobile claims
  • Professional liability
  • Property
  • Life, health, long- and short-term disability
  • Hospital liability
  • Marine insurance
  • Construction and major casualty claims

Our diverse and regionally-based resources allow for effective management of and response to virtually any insurance issue. Our clients include major Canadian and international insurers and reinsurers, underwriters at Lloyd’s, insurance brokers and agents, and investment banks. We have also advised governments and their regulatory agencies on legislative and regulatory issues affecting the insurance sector.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Lewis Andrews,
QC

Counsel

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8822

landrews@stewartmckelvey.com

Giles Ayers

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8840

gayers@stewartmckelvey.com

Ibrahim Badawi

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3379

ibadawi@stewartmckelvey.com

Art Barry,
QC

Partner and General Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3364

abarry@stewartmckelvey.com

Timothy Bell

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2306

tbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Tessa Belliveau

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1952

tbelliveau@stewartmckelvey.com

Karen Bennett-Clayton

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3377

kbennettclayton@stewartmckelvey.com

Cynthia Benson

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8301

cbenson@stewartmckelvey.com

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Sydney Blackmore

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8826

sblackmore@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan Blood

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3362

rblood@stewartmckelvey.com

Donald Cameron

Donald Cameron

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4568

dcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Tyana R. Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephen Carpenter

Stephen Carpenter,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4556

scarpenter@stewartmckelvey.com

Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Janet Clark

Janet Clark,
CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4562

jclark@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheree Conlon

Sheree Conlon,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3375

sconlon@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Coxworthy

Paul Coxworthy

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8830

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Dale Jonathan

Jonathan Dale

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5795

jdale@stewartmckelvey.com

Sarah Dever Letson

Sarah Dever Letson

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2764

sletson@stewartmckelvey.com

Robert Dillon

Robert Dillon

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8894

rdillon@stewartmckelvey.com

Adam Downie

Adam Downie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1707

adownie@stewartmckelvey.com

Robert Dysart

Robert Dysart,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2230

+1.506.871.6859

rdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Michael Fleischmann

Michael Fleischmann

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4569

mfleischmann@stewartmckelvey.com

Renée M. Fontaine

Renée M. Fontaine

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1973

rfontaine@stewartmckelvey.com

Hilary Foster

Hilary Foster

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4590

hfoster@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Andrew Fraser

J. Andrew Fraser,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3390

afraser@stewartmckelvey.com

Kristen Fulton

Kristen Fulton

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2791

kfulton@stewartmckelvey.com

Nick Grant

Nick Grant

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1761

ngrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Marie-Hélène Haché

Marie-Hélène Haché

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0122

mhache@stewartmckelvey.com

Danielle Harding

Danielle Harding

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0124

dharding@stewartmckelvey.com

Lauren Harper

Lauren Harper

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3341

lharper@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Sarah Jackson

Sarah Jackson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

sjackson@stewartmckelvey.com

Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Dominique Landry

Dominique Landry

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1979

dlandry@stewartmckelvey.com

Thomas Laughlin

Thomas Laughlin,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4554

tlaughlin@stewartmckelvey.com

Charles LeBlond

Charles LeBlond,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

cleblond@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Lewis

Christopher Lewis

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8820

clewis@stewartmckelvey.com

G. Grant Machum

G. Grant Machum

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3330

+1.902.488.3770

ggmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

Geoffrey Machum

Geoffrey Machum,
QC, ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3338

gmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

Daniel MacKenzie

Daniel MacKenzie

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1769

dmackenzie@stewartmckelvey.com

Jennifer MacPherson

Jennifer MacPherson

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4565

jmacpherson@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Madill

Christopher Madill

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1711

cmadill@stewartmckelvey.com

Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

Kate Marshall

Kate Marshall

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3342

kmarshall@stewartmckelvey.com

Meaghan McCaw

Meaghan McCaw

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8837

mmccaw@stewartmckelvey.com

Carman G. McCormick

Carman G. McCormick,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3318

cmccormick@stewartmckelvey.com

Kenneth McCullogh

Kenneth McCullogh,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2781

kmccullogh@stewartmckelvey.com

Tipper McEwan

Tipper McEwan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1743

tmcewan@stewartmckelvey.com

David Miller

David Miller,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3319

dmiller@stewartmckelvey.com

Bryan Mills

Bryan Mills

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0132

bmills@stewartmckelvey.com

Greg Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Sara Nicholson

Sara Nicholson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1758

snicholson@stewartmckelvey.com

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Stephen Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

Colin Piercey

Colin Piercey

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3345

+1.902.401.4415

cpiercey@stewartmckelvey.com

Twila Reid

Twila Reid

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8828

+1.709.685.7535

treid@stewartmckelvey.com

André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Rory Rogers

Rory Rogers,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3369

rrogers@stewartmckelvey.com

Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Brianne Rudderham

Brianne Rudderham

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3323

brudderham@stewartmckelvey.com

Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Colm St. Roch Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Sean Seviour

Sean Seviour

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4519

sseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

John Shanks

John Shanks

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3329

jshanks@stewartmckelvey.com

Vasu Sivapalan

Vasu Sivapalan

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8321

vsivapalan@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Stewart

Christopher Stewart

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2224

+1.506.850.7906

cstewart@stewartmckelvey.com

Koren Thomson

Koren Thomson

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8848

kthomson@stewartmckelvey.com

Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Katherine Toner

Katherine Toner

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8970

ktoner@stewartmckelvey.com

Brittany Trafford

Brittany Trafford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.9865

btrafford@stewartmckelvey.com

Margaret Anne Walsh

Margaret Anne Walsh

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4547

mawalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Jamie Watson

Jamie Watson

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6418

jwatson@stewartmckelvey.com

Shelley Wood

Shelley A. Wood

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3353

swood@stewartmckelvey.com

Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com

Rodney Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com