Skip to content

Infrastructure

We helped build Atlantic Canada. Stewart McKelvey lawyers have been involved in most major infrastructure projects throughout the region tracing back generations. The breadth of our current experience includes both public infrastructure projects (roads, bridges, hospitals, courthouses, ferries, waste water systems, and long term care facilities) and private projects (wind farms, dams and hydro electric, mines, pipelines and power lines).

The depth of our experience comes from representing sponsors, owners, bidders (developer/equity and contractor/service providers), and lenders. We understand the perspectives of each and what’s important to them in undertaking major projects. Clients rely on our experience and advice to help navigate the RFQ/RFP process through to completion of the project.

Our representative work includes acting as counsel to:

  • Public authority on a design, build, operate, finance and maintain a tri-province radio system
  • Public authority on a proposed public-private partnership for a city centre redevelopment
  • Private sector developers and builders of the Confederation Bridge joining PEI and New Brunswick
  • Private sector consortium on a bid to design, construct, finance, operate and maintain a new courthouse
  • Public authority for work on the Trans-Canada highway
  • Public authority for work on a major bridge rehabilitation project
  • Private sector contractor as part of a consortium in the development of a sewage collection system and treatment plants
  • Private sector developer in a design/build of a composting facility
  • Private sector developers in the design, build, operate, and financing of the Cobequid Pass highway
  • Investors in the construction of thirteen schools through public/private partnership
  • Private sector company in becoming the major ferry operator in eastern Canada
  • Public authority in a ferry service project for multiple vessels in the Bay of Fundy
  • Private consortium in the design/build of a long term care facility in Newfoundland
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Caines
George Caines

George Caines,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3307

+1.902.401.0956

gcaines@stewartmckelvey.com

Cowan
The Honourable James Cowan

The Honourable James Cowan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3311

jcowan@stewartmckelvey.com

Grant
Robert Grant

Robert Grant,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3328

rgrant@stewartmckelvey.com

Hewitt
Justin Hewitt

Justin Hewitt

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8846

jhewitt@stewartmckelvey.com

Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Neil
Conor O'Neil

Conor O'Neil,
P.Eng.

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2786

coneil@stewartmckelvey.com

Pound
Christine Pound

Christine Pound,
ICD.D

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3391

cpound@stewartmckelvey.com

Russon
Nicholas Russon

Nicholas Russon

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0128

+1.506.292.3615

nrusson@stewartmckelvey.com

Shakespeare
Andrea Shakespeare

Andrea Shakespeare

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1744

ashakespeare@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top