Immigration

Our Immigration law team has the experience necessary to counsel and assist clients who bring international business travelers, professionals or skilled workers to Canada through the necessary employment-based immigration processes.

In addition to advising employers about work permit processes and work permit exemptions, we also assist with questions relating to a foreign national’s eligibility and admissibility to Canada.

Both employers and their international hires must understand the specific application procedures to be followed at Canadian visa offices abroad, the Canadian border, or inland processing centres. Because of the visa and medical requirements that apply to certain foreign nationals, the Canadian immigration process is more straightforward for citizens and residents of some countries and more complex and lengthy for others.

Our Immigration team works hard to streamline the immigration approval process for clients who require the services of international candidates in Canada. As strategic advisors, we work with employers to develop immigration action plans for obtaining the approvals necessary to bring key foreign nationals to Canada (and to retain them) in a timely and compliant manner.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
Bennett-Clayton

Karen Bennett-Clayton

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3377

kbennettclayton@stewartmckelvey.com

Espinal Henao
Sara Espinal Henao

Sara Espinal Henao

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1768

sespinalhenao@stewartmckelvey.com

Leighton
Kathleen Leighton

Kathleen Leighton

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1706

kleighton@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

Rogers
Rory Rogers

Rory Rogers,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3369

rrogers@stewartmckelvey.com

Sheridan

Brendan Sheridan

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3200

bsheridan@stewartmckelvey.com

Stewart
Christopher Stewart

Christopher Stewart

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2224

+1.506.850.7906

cstewart@stewartmckelvey.com

Trafford
Brittany Trafford

Brittany Trafford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.9865

btrafford@stewartmckelvey.com