Estates & Trusts

Stewart McKelvey regularly acts for individuals, owner-managed and family businesses, trust companies, financial institutions and charitable entities on a wide range of estate and trust matters. We work in tandem with our clients’ other professional advisors to ensure a multi-disciplinary response to their needs.

Our team regularly advises clients in relation to:

  • Estate and tax planning
  • Estate administration and litigation
  • Asset protection
  • Charities and not-for-profit entities
  • Probate planning
  • Cross-border and international estate and trust planning

We provide our clients with strategic guidance and advice at all stages of the planning and administration process.

Our estate planning lawyers are experienced in tax to ensure our clients receive the best counsel possible on estate planning, business succession and trust and estate administration. We do everything we can to proactively create plans designed to avoid litigation.

We know, however, that there are times when disputes are unavoidable. Should matters become contentious, we will advance and defend claims involving challenges to wills and estates, claims under dependents’ relief legislation and similar matters.

Our experience:

  • Design and implementation of estate plans involving tax-planned wills with multiple trusts, advanced probate planning mechanisms and strategies to address potential future incapacity.
  • Administration of estates and trusts, and advice to executors, trustees, attorneys and guardians.
  • Tax-planned corporate reorganizations involving family trusts, holding companies and similar planning structures.
  • Contested estates and trusts claims, and related litigation involving estates, trusts and powers of attorney.
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Sarah M. Almon

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3301

salmon@stewartmckelvey.com

Sydney Blackmore

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8826

sblackmore@stewartmckelvey.com

Mark Bursey

Mark Bursey,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3371

+1.902.488.6751

mbursey@stewartmckelvey.com

Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

David Constantine

David Constantine

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8821

dconstantine@stewartmckelvey.com

Alexis V. Couture

Alexis V. Couture

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2234

acouture@stewartmckelvey.com

The Honourable James Cowan

The Honourable James Cowan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3311

jcowan@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Coxworthy

Paul Coxworthy

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8830

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

Jim Cruickshank

Jim Cruickshank

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3394

jcruickshank@stewartmckelvey.com

Andrew Cudmore

Andrew Cudmore

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4586

acudmore@stewartmckelvey.com

J.E. Britt Dysart

J.E. Britt Dysart,
QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0153

bdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Festeryga

Paul Festeryga,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3302

pfesteryga@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Andrew Fraser

J. Andrew Fraser,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3390

afraser@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Marr

Christopher Marr,
TEP

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2789

cmarr@stewartmckelvey.com

Timothy Matthews

Timothy Matthews,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3325

tmatthews@stewartmckelvey.com

Brent McCumber

Brent McCumber,
P.Eng.

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8314

bmccumber@stewartmckelvey.com

Gerald McMackin

Gerald McMackin,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2768

gmcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

Sara Nicholson

Sara Nicholson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1758

snicholson@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard Niedermayer

Richard Niedermayer,
TEP

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3339

rniedermayer@stewartmckelvey.com

Dennis Ryan

Dennis Ryan

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8824

dryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Barbara E. Smith

Barbara E. Smith,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4514

+1.902.626.7481

bsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Ben Whitney

Ben Whitney

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2785

bwhitney@stewartmckelvey.com

Julie Young

Julie Young

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2307

jyoung@stewartmckelvey.com