Energy, Environmental & Natural Resources

Historically, natural resources, including fisheries, agriculture, forestry and mining, contributed significantly to the economy of Atlantic Canada. In recent years, power generation and oil and gas production and distribution, including the development of the offshore, have had a positive economic impact on the region. Today, we are seeing the growth of new resource-based enterprises, such as aquaculture and wind farm power generation. In order for these industries, whether established or emerging, to be sustainable, it is important for them to be cognizant of their environmental impact and the attendant regulatory regime within which they must operate. Whether you are involved in an industry dependent on natural resources, or in an industry creating energy for consumer consumption now and in the future, Stewart McKelvey lawyers will draw on years of experience counselling resource-based businesses, individuals and enterprises throughout the natural resources and energy sectors in Atlantic Canada to give you the best strategic advice. Our experience and expertise includes:

  • Mining law matters, including the issuance of mineral titles and related surface rights, mineral rights, transactional matters of all types and securities law advice.
  • Wind farm project development and management, including environmental assessment and the full range of governmental title issuances and permitting.
  • Knowledge and respect for aboriginal title and rights claims, as well as the conclusion and implementation of impact and benefit agreements and aboriginal partnerships and co-ventures.
  • Advice to the key players in offshore oil production projects, in addition to acting regularly for oil refineries and transshipment facilities across Atlantic Canada.
  • Being the trusted advisor to the largest aquaculture business in the region.
  • Successfully working within the region’s environmental laws, regulations and practices, and making them work for our clients.
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's

Ibrahim Badawi

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3379

ibadawi@stewartmckelvey.com

Ian Bilek

Ian Bilek

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3399

ibilek@stewartmckelvey.com

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Gabriel D. Brodeur

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5791

gbrodeur@stewartmckelvey.com

Spencer Campbell

Spencer Campbell,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4549

scampbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

David Constantine

David Constantine

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8821

dconstantine@stewartmckelvey.com

Paul Coxworthy

Paul Coxworthy

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8830

pcoxworthy@stewartmckelvey.com

James M. Dickson

James M. Dickson,
QC, P.Eng

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3308

+1.902.456.0117

jdickson@stewartmckelvey.com

J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

Gérard La Forest

Gérard La Forest,
C.C, QC

Counsel

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0135

glaforest@stewartmckelvey.com

Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

Trevor MacDonald

Trevor MacDonald

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1720

tmacdonald@stewartmckelvey.com

John McFarlane

John McFarlane,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3315

+1.902.471.9986

jmcfarlane@stewartmckelvey.com

Gerald McMackin

Gerald McMackin,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2768

gmcmackin@stewartmckelvey.com

Greg Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Will Moreira

Will Moreira,
QC, FCIArb

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3346

wmoreira@stewartmckelvey.com

Sara Nicholson

Sara Nicholson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1758

snicholson@stewartmckelvey.com

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Colin Piercey

Colin Piercey

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3345

+1.902.401.4415

cpiercey@stewartmckelvey.com

David Randell

David Randell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3309

+1.902.476.8760

drandell@stewartmckelvey.com

Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Brianne Rudderham

Brianne Rudderham

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3323

brudderham@stewartmckelvey.com

Dennis Ryan

Dennis Ryan

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8824

dryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Maureen Ryan

Maureen Ryan,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8880

mryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Colm St. Roch Seviour

Colm St. Roch Seviour,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8847

cseviour@stewartmckelvey.com

Vasu Sivapalan

Vasu Sivapalan

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8321

vsivapalan@stewartmckelvey.com

Harold Smith

Harold Smith,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8895

+1.709.685.2308

hsmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Tauna Staniland

Tauna Staniland

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8842

tstaniland@stewartmckelvey.com

Christopher Stewart

Christopher Stewart

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2224

+1.506.850.7906

cstewart@stewartmckelvey.com

Robert Vincent

Robert Vincent,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2780

rvincent@stewartmckelvey.com

Kim Walsh

Kim Walsh

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8834

kwalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Sarah Walsh

Sarah Walsh

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3388

swalsh@stewartmckelvey.com

Amanda Whitehead

Amanda Whitehead

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3381

awhitehead@stewartmckelvey.com

Rodney Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com