Education

At Stewart McKelvey, we have a strong team of lawyers with extensive experience providing a broad range of legal services to clients in the education sector. We’re able to efficiently and effectively navigate the complex legal, regulatory, and operational environments in which education institutions often operate.

Members of our education group have worked in a number of different areas within the sector, including student discipline, intellectual property for universities, contracts, labour and employment, privacy, insurance and risk management, and avoidance. We’ve worked with clients at school boards, community colleges and universities, and we have experience with the following:

  • Reviewing, revising and drafting a variety of contracts;
  • Advising on board governance issues;
  • Representing various institutions (school board and post-secondary levels) at all stages of the discipline process from procedural advice to appearing before internal tribunes, as well as judicial review;
  • Advising on human rights and accommodation issues related to both employees and students;
  • Developing and reviewing human rights policies, as well as the design and delivery of training programs;
  • Acting as chief negotiator through the collective bargaining process for faculty and staff; and
  • Advising and representing various institutions with respect to privacy and access to information matters.
SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Bata

Adam Bata

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1702

abata@stewartmckelvey.com

Bell

Timothy Bell

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2306

tbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Saint John (& Fredericton)

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.634.6414

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett

Clarence Bennett

Managing Partner, Fredericton (& Saint John)

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8978

cbennett@stewartmckelvey.com

Bennett-Clayton

Karen Bennett-Clayton

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3377

kbennettclayton@stewartmckelvey.com

Best

Erin Best

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8833

ebest@stewartmckelvey.com

Bilek
Ian Bilek

Ian Bilek

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3399

ibilek@stewartmckelvey.com

Black

Michelle Black

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3332

mblack@stewartmckelvey.com

Campbell

Scott Campbell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3383

srcampbell@stewartmckelvey.com

Caplan
Tyana R. Caplan

Tyana R. Caplan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3356

tcaplan@stewartmckelvey.com

Carpenter
Janet Carpenter

Janet Carpenter

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5794

jcarpenter@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Chan
Level Chan

Level Chan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3389

lchan@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Couture
Alexis V. Couture

Alexis V. Couture

Associate

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2234

acouture@stewartmckelvey.com

Cowan
The Honourable James Cowan

The Honourable James Cowan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3311

jcowan@stewartmckelvey.com

Dever Letson
Sarah Dever Letson

Sarah Dever Letson

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2764

sletson@stewartmckelvey.com

Dysart
J.E. Britt Dysart

J.E. Britt Dysart,
QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0153

bdysart@stewartmckelvey.com

Greenough
Lara Greenough

Lara Greenough

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0151

lgreenough@stewartmckelvey.com

Harquail
J. Paul M. Harquail

J. Paul M. Harquail,
ACIArb

Bilingual Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8313

+1.506.639.0974

pharquail@stewartmckelvey.com

Hirsch
Richard Hirsch

Richard Hirsch

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3348

rhirsch@stewartmckelvey.com

Jackson
Sarah Jackson

Sarah Jackson

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3327

sjackson@stewartmckelvey.com

Jan
Sadira Jan

Sadira Jan

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1701

sjan@stewartmckelvey.com

Johnston
Brian Johnston

Brian Johnston,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3374

bjohnston@stewartmckelvey.com

Keyes
Colleen Keyes

Colleen Keyes

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1716

ckeyes@stewartmckelvey.com

Laughlin
Thomas Laughlin

Thomas Laughlin,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4554

tlaughlin@stewartmckelvey.com

MacFadyen
D. Fraser MacFadyen

D. Fraser MacFadyen

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3365

+1.902.488.3717

fmacfadyen@stewartmckelvey.com

Machum
G. Grant Machum

G. Grant Machum

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3330

+1.902.488.3770

ggmachum@stewartmckelvey.com

MacLeod
Deanne MacLeod

Deanne MacLeod

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3313

dmacleod@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

Matthews
Timothy Matthews

Timothy Matthews,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3325

tmatthews@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McCullogh
Kenneth McCullogh

Kenneth McCullogh,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2781

kmccullogh@stewartmckelvey.com

McFarlane
John McFarlane

John McFarlane,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3315

+1.902.471.9986

jmcfarlane@stewartmckelvey.com

McLellan
Peter McLellan

Peter McLellan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1717

+1.902.402.0189

pmclellan@stewartmckelvey.com

Moores
Greg Moores

Greg Moores

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5797

gmoores@stewartmckelvey.com

Morisset
Sacha Morisset

Sacha Morisset

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1942

smorisset@stewartmckelvey.com

Morrison
Perlene Morrison

Perlene Morrison

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4508

pmorrison@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
Jennifer Murphy

Jennifer Murphy

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3387

jennifermurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Murphy
Murray L. Murphy

Murray L. Murphy,
QC, CPHR

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4558

+1.902.626.9652

mmurphy@stewartmckelvey.com

Newell
Matthew Newell

Matthew Newell

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1721

mnewell@stewartmckelvey.com

Norman
Susan Norman

Susan Norman

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8831

snorman@stewartmckelvey.com

O'Kane

Jon O'Kane

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.9502

jokane@stewartmckelvey.com

Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Penney
Stephen Penney

Stephen Penney

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8881

+1.709.691.5588

spenney@stewartmckelvey.com

Reid
Twila Reid

Twila Reid

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8828

+1.709.685.7535

treid@stewartmckelvey.com

Richard
André G. Richard

André G. Richard,
QC

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1962

arichard@stewartmckelvey.com

Rogers
Rory Rogers

Rory Rogers,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3369

rrogers@stewartmckelvey.com

Rubin
Nancy Rubin

Nancy Rubin,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3337

nrubin@stewartmckelvey.com

Russon
Nicholas Russon

Nicholas Russon

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0128

+1.506.292.3615

nrusson@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Maureen Ryan

Maureen Ryan,
QC

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8880

mryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Ryan
Mick Ryan

Mick Ryan,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3316

wryan@stewartmckelvey.com

Saturley
Rebecca Saturley

Rebecca Saturley

Managing Partner, Halifax

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3333

+1.902.456.0039

rsaturley@stewartmckelvey.com

Smith
Paul Smith

Paul Smith

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2787

psmith@stewartmckelvey.com

Stordy
Lawrence Stordy

Lawrence Stordy,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3347

lstordy@stewartmckelvey.com

Stuttard
Gavin Stuttard

Gavin Stuttard

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1709

gstuttard@stewartmckelvey.com

Sullivan
Chad Sullivan

Chad Sullivan

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0126

csullivan@stewartmckelvey.com

Sutherland
Ian Sutherland

Ian Sutherland

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3378

isutherland@stewartmckelvey.com

Tabor
Brian Tabor

Brian Tabor,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3397

btabor@stewartmckelvey.com

Thomas
Candace Thomas

Candace Thomas,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3373

cthomas@stewartmckelvey.com

Thomson
Koren Thomson

Koren Thomson

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8848

kthomson@stewartmckelvey.com

Thorne
Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Trafford
Brittany Trafford

Brittany Trafford

Associate

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.9865

btrafford@stewartmckelvey.com

Vincent
Robert Vincent

Robert Vincent,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2780

rvincent@stewartmckelvey.com

Zdebiak
Rodney Zdebiak

Rodney Zdebiak

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8841

rzdebiak@stewartmckelvey.com