Bankruptcy, Receivership & Insolvency

Our lawyers have significant experience providing specialized legal assistance to a range of stakeholders involved in restructuring and insolvency matters. Our team takes a creative and strategic approach to help our clients navigate to a conclusion that maximizes value from preparing financial agreement to providing counsel to clients seeking reorganization or liquidation.

Our experience includes:

  • Advising some of the country’s largest lending institutions on complex debt recovery and insolvency matters;
  • Advising credit counselling services and other institutions focused on debt recovery;
  • Working with leading accounting institutions on resolving debt issues;
  • Acting as legal counsel to various stakeholders in numerous insolvency proceedings under both the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act and the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.

Our lawyers have been consistently ranked in Best Lawyers in Insolvency and Financial Restructuring.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Baker

Ryan Baker

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1760

rbaker@stewartmckelvey.com

Boudreau
Rémy Boudreau

Rémy Boudreau

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

rboudreau@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Cudmore
Andrew Cudmore

Andrew Cudmore

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4586

acudmore@stewartmckelvey.com

Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Matthew Jacobs

Matthew Jacobs

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3370

mjacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Neil Jacobs

Neil Jacobs,
QC

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8888

+1.709.690.5999

njacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Kiley
Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKeigan

Robert G. MacKeigan,
QC

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1771

robbie@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

McFarlane
John McFarlane

John McFarlane,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3315

+1.902.471.9986

jmcfarlane@stewartmckelvey.com

Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Parker
Jeff Parker

Jeff Parker

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2779

jparker@stewartmckelvey.com

Poirier
Mathieu Poirier

Mathieu Poirier

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1949

mpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com

Scott
Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Thorne
Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Travers
James Travers

James Travers,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4504

jtravers@stewartmckelvey.com

Waberski
Alanna Waberski

Alanna Waberski

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2792

+1.506.608.0700

awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com

Wedlake
David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com