Skip to content

Bankruptcy, Receivership & Insolvency

Our lawyers have significant experience providing specialized legal assistance to a range of stakeholders involved in restructuring and insolvency matters. Our team takes a strategic approach to help our clients navigate through reorganization, restructuring or liquidation.

Our experience includes:

  • Advising some of the country’s largest lending institutions and other stakeholders on complex debt recovery and insolvency matters.
  • Acting as legal counsel to various stakeholders in numerous insolvency proceedings under both the Companies’ Creditors Arrangement Act and the Bankruptcy and Insolvency Act.
  • Working with leading restructuring professionals on resolving insolvency issues.

Our lawyers have been consistently ranked in Best Lawyers in Insolvency and Financial Restructuring.

SHARE

Associated Lawyers

  • All
  • Charlottetown
  • Fredericton
  • Halifax
  • Moncton
  • Saint John
  • St. John's
Boudreau

Rémy Boudreau

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1976

rboudreau@stewartmckelvey.com

Cameron
Hugh Cameron

Hugh Cameron

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.443.0120

+1.506.457.8881

hcameron@stewartmckelvey.com

Chai
Michelle Chai

Michelle Chai

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1704

mchai@stewartmckelvey.com

Chiasson
Maurice Chiasson

Maurice Chiasson,
QC

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3300

+1.902.452.8626

mchiasson@stewartmckelvey.com

Coats

Madeleine Coats

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.8801

mcoats@stewartmckelvey.com

Connolly
Geoffrey Connolly

Geoffrey Connolly,
QC, P.Eng.

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4515

+1.902.626.6244

gconnolly@stewartmckelvey.com

Demeulenaere

Gary Demeulenaere

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4509

gdemeulenaere@stewartmckelvey.com

Haynes
Graham Haynes

Graham Haynes

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8331

ghaynes@stewartmckelvey.com

Hill
Andrew Hill

Andrew Hill

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1718

ahill@stewartmckelvey.com

Hutchison
Steve Hutchison

Steve Hutchison,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2784

shutchison@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Matthew Jacobs

Matthew Jacobs

Associate

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.5790

mjacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Jacobs
Neil Jacobs

Neil Jacobs,
QC

Managing Partner, St. John's

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8888

+1.709.690.5999

njacobs@stewartmckelvey.com

Jurgens

Kate Jurgens

Associate

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4516

kjurgens@stewartmckelvey.com

Kiley
Paul Kiley

Paul Kiley

Managing Partner, Charlottetown

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4536

pkiley@stewartmckelvey.com

Lahey
Cathy Lahey

Cathy Lahey,
QC

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.8307

clahey@stewartmckelvey.com

MacKeigan

Robert G. MacKeigan,
QC

Counsel

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1771

robbie@stewartmckelvey.com

Marks
Josie Marks

Josie Marks

Partner

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.383.2304

jmarks@stewartmckelvey.com

McCarthy
Allison McCarthy

Allison McCarthy

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8977

+1.506.461.2218

amccarthy@stewartmckelvey.com

McElman
Frederick McElman

Frederick McElman,
CM, QC

Partner

Fredericton, N.B.

+1.506.444.8979

+1.506.461.2153

fmcelman@stewartmckelvey.com

Parent
Julia Parent

Julia Parent

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2729

jparent@stewartmckelvey.com

Parker
Jeff Parker

Jeff Parker

Associate

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2779

jparker@stewartmckelvey.com

Poirier
Mathieu Poirier

Mathieu Poirier,
TEP

Managing Partner, Moncton

Moncton, N.B.

+1.506.853.1949

mpoirier@stewartmckelvey.com

Scott
Sara Scott

Sara Scott,
P.Eng.

Partner

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.420.3363

sscott@stewartmckelvey.com

Thorne
Joe Thorne

Joe Thorne

Partner

St. John's, N.L.

+1.709.570.8850

joethorne@stewartmckelvey.com

Travers
James Travers

James Travers,
QC

Partner

Charlottetown, P.E.

+1.902.629.4504

jtravers@stewartmckelvey.com

Waberski

Alanna Waberski

Partner

Saint John, N.B.

+1.506.632.2792

+1.506.608.0700

awaberski@stewartmckelvey.com

Wedlake
David Wedlake

David Wedlake

Associate

Halifax, N.S.

+1.902.444.1705

dwedlake@stewartmckelvey.com

Scroll To Top